My period survival kit part 2

And how in the world did I miss these two essential parts of my female organ experience??? Oh right, the lack of sleep, essential brain-functioning nutrients flooding out of my system and a bad case of the whiny bitchfaceness otherwise known as PMS. Oops.

TEA!
Of course! I’ve written about my collection here, and how it became something that I could have and still control even when my body was fighting against me in the epic way only it knows how. These days, I use my tea to work with me. So for a period, blacks and the occasional pu’erhs are out. Too much caffeine, given my usual week long headache that goes with a period. Green is the most caffeiney option I use, and even then a quick first rinse to get rid of some of the caffeine is occasionally warranted. I like herbals, fruit blends to kill any sugar cravings, and white tea. And any cuppa is a good internal hot water bottle, helping my middle relax and lessen the pain I get. My biggest struggle is usually getting up off the couch to make it!

My Entertainment Collection
As you can see from the photo, I have a few dvds, mostly tv series. Part of getting quite ill and needing to be at home on the couch is having a way to entertain myself, and when the associated aforementioned headaches make reading a non-option, dvd watching is the next best thing. I like and have a bit of everything – drama, comedy, sci fi, guilty pleasures, and watch whatever takes my fancy at the time.

image

Not only does it pass the time (because there’s not much else you can do when your insides are that unhappy) but its an excellent form of escapism, and allows me to not focus on my problems. Plus, if I’m not actually thinking and worrying about the pain, wooziness or blood loss, it’s effecting me less, right?

About Jenna

Seeking a new way of working outside the standard 9-5. Writer for hire - blogs, internal procedures, social media posts, training manuals or anything else you an imagine.
This entry was posted in von Willebrands and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

