Blessings

I’ve had a hard 6 months, and a not so fun immediately passed week and a half. The unexpected and uncontrolled bleeds and the testing of medication is not my favourite part of life. But there are many things that are quite awesome about my life. So in a effort to be positive and appreciative of the wonderful things in my life, this windy Monday morning you’re getting a list.

First and most importantly, I’m so happy I have my partner. He is kind, silly, patient, gracious in his sacrifice of his time and effort caring for me when I’m unwell, and has a great sense of humour that always makes me smile. Its been so amazing having him in my life, and I’m grateful for it every day.

I’m grateful I was diagnosed with my condition and live in a country where access to treatment and cheap medication is easy and legal. I may not have enjoyed the last 6 months of my life, medically speaking, but I had much more severe bleeds prior to my diagnosis, and I had no idea what caused it. Women have had a rough time with bleeding disorders, as they can be simply unknown severe menstrual bleeds for the patient, given the rare nature of the conditions.

I’m glad that while I have some out of pockets for meds and doctors appointments, its not financially crippling.

I’m so glad I found Barrecode! I love the workout, I crave it. I’m glad I’ve found something that is supportive of my medical condition, easy to get to, that I enjoy – a rare combination I think!

I am happy, that despite some associated difficulties, I have a type 1 diagnosis. Even with the daily measures I take, the circumstances I plan around, and the changes to lifestyle I utilise, my symptoms are manageable, and for the most case, mild. I have met quite a few people with a severe diagnosis, and I’m grateful that passed me by.

I’m grateful for my current journey to find health and wellness, and all the people who are supportive of it (including all of you who read this). I have gained so much wisdom from Christie from Barrecode, the extended Whole9 team, Jo at Primal Living Tasmania and many others.

I’m grateful that while Matt Smith is leaving Doctor Who, the marvellous Steven Moffat is staying put. Yep, I’m a sci fi nerd.

I’m so happy I have the resources to make myself well.

About Jenna @ MyMissingFactor

I'm Jenna Lovell. I'm here to inspire you to be healthy by sharing my story of living with chronic illness - lets take the taboo out of illness
This entry was posted in von Willebrands and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blessings

  1. alexismcd says:

    And I am grateful for your gratitude. Your outlook, your patience, and your hope and fortitude in the face of your struggle is seriously inspiring! Believe me when I say, you are amazing.

    • Aw, shucks!

      There are certainly days/weeks where that isn’t the case. I struggle to deal with the realities of my condition, with being holed up at home and unable to exercise, go outside, go to work, or even wash up to ease the burden on my partner. But what the last few months of health/wellness discovery has taught me is that gratitude and patience serves me much better than frustration, so I aim to choose the former.

Leave a Reply

