New Beginnings

Today is the last day of my 9-5 job, and I’m moving on to a new role with my other employer. This is a very exciting development for me – As I’ve written about before, I love my role there, and I can’t wait to expand on it and do work I enjoy and with people I want to work with.

I’ve learned (or more accurately, re-learned) a few life lessons in this role that is coming to a close, and I want to share them with you.

1. No one else is EVER going to put my health or happiness first. Or at least not first in the way I want and need.

I think a lot of us get caught in a trap of thinking “if I do the ‘right’ things, I’ll be happy”, or “they’ll know how to thank me or take care of me because that’s what I’d do”, or even “I’ll be taken care of after putting in this effort because its the right thing to do”. While we’re all human, there are so many variables in the way each of us view the world, the morals and values we hold and what they mean to us. You won’t get what you want or need waiting for someone else to work it out and get it on track. So get selfish (in the right way!). Work out what you want and need for a happy health life, and start working towards it. Don’t apologise for putting yourself first – if there’s anything that I’ve learned in the last year, its that putting my health first and following my passions is a way of serving others. Not only in doing so am I happier and healthier, but I’m more connected with what I’m sharing and doing, which always produces a better outcome or product.

2. You’re allowed, and should always aim to love what you do for work.

I think at some point we’ve ended up with this notion that work is something we do to get money to pay the bills, and not liking it that much is just part of the deal for the money you take home. I think its officially time to call a worldwide ‘bullshit’ on this one! You spend (at least) 40 hours a week working – for me that’s enough incentive to make it worth my time in so many other ways. For my mental health, for my personal development, to feel like you’re giving your all for your time there, to make a difference (which is much, much harder to do when you don’t like what you’re doing) and to enjoy a major chunk of my working hours. Wanting to get up and go to work in the morning makes all the difference in the world – I know that its been easier for me to get up at 5 am to do the Market some weeks than I have found to get up at 6:30 on any old Thursday.

3. You don’t have to fit in to make a good life

Maybe you want to pick a job that looks a bit financially unstable, or you like doing things in a way which isn’t what “most people” do it. That, my friend, is the best thing in the world! It can definitely be confronting to do things your own way when you know people are going to comment disrespectfully, but remember this – none of them are you. If it lights you up, if it makes your life better, if you’re able to take care of yourself and you’re not hurting anyone, you’re on to a good thing and it doesn’t matter if it makes no sense to anyone else! So seek alternative medical treatment, take an unstable job, or drop everything to travel the world for a year. If it makes sense for you, its the right way to go.

One last thing for you today – I’m in the process of making some changes to this blog (some more new beginnings!) including transferring to a new blog home and some site design to make this place look as awesome as its words are. In order to keep up with what I’m doing and where the site is at, I recommend you join me on my Facebook page. I hope you join me when my new digs are up for the world to see!

About Jenna @ MyMissingFactor

I'm Jenna Lovell. I'm here to inspire you to be healthy by sharing my story of living with chronic illness - lets take the taboo out of illness
This entry was posted in About Me. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Beginnings

  1. Manda says:

    Can’t wait to see how the new digs turn out!

    On the actual post itself, yes. So many of them, in fact.

    I know that every day I drag myself to work, waiting for the never ending lack of appreciation to be dropped on my head because I feel that people see my role as completely dispensable, I tell myself that on the whole I do it for the financial stability. Let’s face it: I’m not happy. I miss my music, I miss teaching what I know and teaching it well, and I miss singing for my own pleasure, not to mention training myself to be better at it. I spent 20 years to get to the point where I gave up a steady job to follow my dreams, and because of money, I gave up my dreams again to get experience and (relative) financial stability.

    I want to make a break when the new academic year starts, and be doing what I love the most. It’s going to be incredibly scary, because we have a wedding to pay for, my other half travels 2.25 hours each way to work every day he goes, and we want to take three weeks off in January to come home and see everyone. But, I think at the end of the day, I’d rather be scratching around in the cupboard for a decent dinner and playing solitaire at home or reading a good book to save money, than continue to over-stretch my health and my mental health to make things “easier”. Knowing and watching you make this change has had a real impact on the way I think about my own work life. I think that this kind of confrontation is a welcome one, with a healthy change and plenty more benefits.

Leave a Reply

